h1

I gotta blog something

October 26, 2008

I’ve been to the Vancouver and Nashville games at Nationwide, I watched/recorded the Rangers game, and watched the Wild game last night instead of the OSU-PSU game.  I even made all the home exhibition games.  I have a lot of questions.  Here are a few:

1.  What happened to Kris Russell?  I thought he was the D-man of the future, a guy who could rush the puck up ice and join in on the offensive attack.  Why is he suddenly not playing?  Is he the new Alexandre Picard?  If the team doesn’t want to play him, send him to another team where former Jackets always seem to thrive.  Like Ron Hainsey, who has seven points (2 goals, 5 assists) in eight games and is PLUS 3.

***UPDATE***  Well, now we know.  Russell will now be playing in Syracuse.  Announcement here.

2.  Why did three of the four officials overrule the goal last night after video replay could not do so?  If they reached that conclusion immediately, why bother to use replay at all?  Did Dan Marouelli, a senior referee, along with the two linesmen, overrule Steve Kozari, the least experienced member of the crew?  If so, will Kozari face a hearing because of his original call?  As a referee, I have never, ever, overruled another official.  I’ve seen bad calls and made lots of them myself, but I would never show up another official on the ice.

3.  So we have Ken Hitchcock coaching a team that he feels is more competitive (his word, not mine) and yet I see a team that can’t play three consecutive periods of hockey.  Is the team still not the right mix of players?  Do they need more time to hear about Hitch’s system, even though it’s the same one he used in Dallas over ten years ago?  Or are the players not listening to him?

4.  Why did the fans at the Rangers game boo Nikolai Zherdev?  He was traded away.  He did not pull an Adam Foote, for cryin’ out loud!  Come on Columbus, you boo Todd Boeckman and now Zherdev?

Other than that, I’m fine with everything.

-Truth Serum

One comment

  1. I have to agree on pretty much all counts…

    and last night made me sad. 😦



Comments are closed.

