h1

Numbers, rates, and metrics… oh my!

November 27, 2007

It’s no secret to everyone here that I’ve been trying to figure out how to use stats more in my team analysis. I’ve done some data mining of my own, and what I usually find is that I don’t know what questions to ask. There is a lot of information available through the gamesheets provided at www.nhl.com, but if you don’t know what you’re looking for you probably won’t find “it”.

My initial problem with my first few forays into the world of numbers was that it was fairly cumbersome for me to extract what I wanted.  I insisted on doing things my own (usually harder than the hard way), which almost always ended the project halfway to completion.  I’ve recently rediscovered the fine minds over at www.mc79hockey.com, and reading through some of the posts and comments helped remind me that a lot of the heavy lifting had already been done.

If you are at all interested in hockey statistics beyond the sense of “who leads the league in goals” and other easily obtainable items, you should check out the following sites.

  • Behind the Net – Gabriel Desjardins has more information than you thought a hockey game contained.  For me, it’s the stuff I didn’t know I wanted, but was pleased to find because it starts to help answer the questions I hadn’t asked yet.  Confused yet?  I was too.  Check out the site.
  • NHL Shift Charts – Vic Ferrari has put together a great site so you can visually see who is matched up with who on the ice, in addition to some nice charts listing head-to-head ice time.
  • Hockey Numbers – Java Geek runs this site.  I’m pretty new to this one, and it seems very academically stats based.  Perhaps I shouldn’t have slept through Stats 135 in college.
  • Hockey Analysis – David Johnson has some great pre-made lists put together, and check out the blog as well.
  • On the Forecheck – Dirk Hoag runs some good stuff from down in Tennessee.

There are bound to be many more stats sites I haven’t discovered yet.  I know I mentioned it before the listing, but I think you should check out these sites if you have any interest in hockey analysis at all.  Danny Gare, head on over, buddy.

I have a feeling, now that I know the hard work is already being done, that many of my upcoming posts will pull data from one of the sites listed above.  I hope that with the help of these folks, I can better understand the game of hockey.  I didn’t grow up with the game, as I did with football and baseball, so I don’t believe I have too many preconceived notions of what I’m looking for in a hockey game other than those that are constantly treated as gospel on the TV broadcasts.

Thanks for stopping by the End of the Bench.  Come back soon.

– Drew

One comment

  1. […] of the Bench Views on the Blue Jackets, hockey, and sports in general « Numbers, rates, and metrics… oh my! Hitched Horses November 27, 2007 The Blue Jackets have performed above the expectations […]



Comments are closed.

