h1

I think it’s worth noting

November 19, 2007

For those of you who are relatively new to the End of the Bench, I’d like to welcome you first and foremost.  I appreciate all the readers we’ve been lucky to have here, both new and returning.  I’d like to think I’d continue the site even if nobody visited, but I’m not so sure that really is the case.  Thank you.

One of the things that we here at EOB are trying to figure out how to make a little more clear for the reader is the fact that we have two writers on staff.  First we have myself, Drew.  I founded the site in February of 2006, and have been spewing my thoughts on the positives and negatives since.  The newer addition to the EOB team is Truth Serum.  The pseudonomous writer knows a great deal about hockey, and currently titles all of his posts in the Dose of Reality category. 

I had coffee with Truth shortly before the season started, and one throwaway question he had for me was, “do you think people even realize that there are two different guys posting?”  I hadn’t done any informal polling, and only had my own experiences to draw on, so I said there was no way anyone didn’t know that there were two distinct personalities pecking out anti-MacLean diatribes on the site.  And for those of you who have been around for a while, that’s probably true.  But I neglected to consider those who are new to EOB, and have just started looking around.  It may not be readily apparent to those people.

I’m only making a post out of this because part of the reason I brought additional talent (hey Truth, I called us talent.  Ha!) was because I thought that the differing opinions would create a fun atmosphere of discussion.  To date, there have not been any writings by Truth that I vehemently disagree with.  So I don’t want you to think that I’m trying to distance myself from what he writes, that is not the case.  But if you’re new to the EOB game, it could be a little confusing to not know what’s going on.  We’re trying to figure a way to tinker with the site to make the author of each post more evident.  At a minimum, we’ll continue to use the tagline of our name following each post.  Bigger things may be coming down the road, we’ll just have to wait and see.

I hope that you find our content interesting and thought provoking.  We’ve accumulated quite a slew of readers, and I know we’d both like to continue to grow the site.  So if you have ideas, let us know.  We don’t receive a lot of feedback, positive or negative.  In the absence of controls, we’re left to assume we’re doing a fantastic job.

Here are some links related to this story:

Thanks for stopping by the End of the Bench.  Come back soon.

– Drew

