h1

Dose of Reality #82

November 19, 2007

This morning, James Mirtle mentions a new book that should be very important to Blue Jacket fans. No, it’s not about the upcoming indictment of Doug MacLean for impersonating a GM. The book is titled “Future Greats and Heartbreaks”, by Gare Joyce. It will available in the near future and here is a link at Amazon. The book is about scouting in the NHL and according to what I have read, the scouting department of the Columbus Blue Jackets is prominently featured. Gare Joyce is even blogging about his book here. Joyce writes about Derek Brassard, Jakub Voracek, Kris Russell, Tom Sestito, and the CBJ scouting group. The author has kept in touch with many of the principals in the book and has some follow-up remarks on his site. I have it on order and will try to review and blog about it in the future.

-Truth Serum

3 comments

  1. Another book I’m interested in reading is “The Code”. Have you read this one?


  2. Never read “The Code”. I liked “Putting a Roof on Winter” and “The Season” by Ken Dryden. I did read Joyce’s earlier book, “When the Lights Went Out” and enjoyed it. Perhaps we need Sarah from Neutral Zone Trap to start a hockey reading group.


  3. Actually, I just sold my copy of “The Code” at the Half Price Books on Lane the other day. You can probably go pick it up cheap right now…

    I thought “The Code” was so-so. Some of the stories from retired players were interesting, but overall there wasn’t really anything new I learned in the book. I didn’t really care for the writing style either, although I forget now exactly what it was that irked me about it.

    I definitely want to get my hands on the new Joyce book, as well as Dave King’s book about his time in Russia. Just debating if I want to order them on-line now, or wait ’til I go to Calgary in March and pick them up then.



Comments are closed.

