h1

Are you questioning my fanhood?

November 14, 2007

“Does your fanhood need questioning?”

That is the question that a lot of Blue Jacket fans should be asking themselves.  Four games into an eight game division run, the Jackets are (0-3-1) and have shown few signs of life.  It’s not been pretty to watch, but I will continue to tune-in and attend when I’m able.

Why?  Because I have an irrational attachment to this team.  That’s what being a fan is all about.

Over in the comments at Puck Rakers, it seems like there are a few folks alerting the driver that they’d like to get off the bandwagon.  My experience with the team (and by this, I mean my fanhood and do not wish to imply that I have any personal experience with anyone involved with the organization) is exclusively between me and the team, so it doesn’t bother me at all that people are jumping off the wagon.  But I do think it’s funny, and I have to confess I don’t really understand the concept of only cheering for a team when they’re doing well.

There’s so much to say about this issue, and I don’t have time to go through it all right now.  This organization appears to have good people in place in all the right places: ownership, management, and coaching.  Rome wasn’t built in a day, and neither will a playoff berth.  I know the response to that statement is this: “We’ve waited since 2000-01 for a playoff berth, and they still suck.”  While that is true, two-thirds of the organizational trio mentioned above have had less than 16 months combined to make a difference.  This team will get better, sooner or later.  Aside from the Tampa Bay Devil Rays (oh, excuse me… they’re just the Rays, now), I can’t think of a pro sports team that has consistently sucked for their entire existence.

The Blue Jackets have only completed six seasons, let’s not add them to the list of the Thunderbolts/Glory/Horizon/Quest just yet.  If those of you who are ready to give up after a four-game losing streak can get past your myopia, you’ll see that this team is getting better and will likely continue to do so.  Growing pains are a part of maturing, and a National Hockey League franchise is no exception.

Stick around, it’s going to be an interesting ride.

Thanks for stopping by the End of the Bench.  Come back soon.

– Drew

