h1

Did you miss me?

October 3, 2007

It’s been awhile, folks.  I’ve had something like eleven meaningful posts since the Stanley Cup was awarded to Anaheim.  Kudos to Truth Serum for keeping things rolling with thought provoking material during the slow months.

Hockey season is upon us once again, and every fan of every team is filled with hope and excitement.  Some fans mask their hope embarassingly in false bravado, others (like myself) in cynically guarded optimism (if this makes sense to you, please let me know exactly how I feel).  But as we work our way through the final hours prior the start of the NHL season, we all think there might be a chance.

I’ll have my predictions (by conference) up very soon, so you all can begin the mocking process because I didn’t pick your team to finish at the top.  Until then, it’s a reprisal of the quick hitter column.

Wednesday Quick Hitters

  • Kris Russell and Jared Boll have surprised more than a few people by making the roster.  Steve Mason will also serve as the third goalie for the time being.  With no evil GM overlord issuing edicts as to which junior player will be thrown to the wolves this year, it’s safe to assume that these young guys have proven themselves worthy of the opportunity.  And if you’ve seen any of them play (even if it is preseason), you know that this is true.  Russell may be smaller than most, but he makes Duvie Westcott look positively expendable (my wife is going to kill me for writing that).
  • Adam Foote, Fredrik Modin, and Michael Peca are all currently on Injured Reserve.  It’s been reported that Modin and Foote are merely there to assist in trimming the roster to 23 and should be on the ice when the season starts this Friday.  Peca is a different story, as he is not expected to suit up for the opener.  After missing the entire preseason due to a groin injury, and now having questionable status due to back spasms, Peca is a bit of a health concern going forward.  I’m doing my best to not be hasty in my judgement, and I’m not going to allow myself to issue any I-told-you-so’s at this time.  I’m sincerely hopeful that he can rejoin the team on the Nationwide ice soon and help us win some games.
  • Sheldon Brookbank was last year’s AHL Defenseman of the Year.  The Jackets signed him as a free agent, and there was some hope that he could help bolster the depth on the blueline.  I did not hear much about him from training camp or the preseason, so it’s hard for me to have an opinion about seeing him snagged off the waiver wire by the New Jersey Devils.  Does anybody else have any better insight here?
  • We’ve got a cannon this year.  Seriously, we do.  Be prepared.
  • Sergei Fedorov has won Survivor: CBJ Center and gets to play between David Vyborny and Rick Nash, at least for a few games.  It appears, however, that this will indefinitely be an open position.  Look for a few others to get their shot, maybe even Derick Brassard at some point in time.
  • There are two “Number One” goalies on the roster.  Head coach Ken Hitchcock says, “I told them both that we will reward really good play by either one of them. That’s just how it is. If a guy is on a roll or he’s getting shutouts, we will reward that.”  I’m okay with either.  I’ve been more of a Norrena man in the past, but honestly I’m going to support whomever gives the team the best chance to win.  Freddy has the stoic confidence of the old wise man, and Pascal has the sick flashy moves of the brash youngster.  Still, both have conducted themselves in a very professional manner through it all.  I hope this is a good battle, and not one of the lesser of two evils.

That’s all for today.  Thanks for stopping by the End of the Bench.  Come back soon.

One comment

  1. In the words of a good friend give me Freddy or give me death…made me giggle but Leclaire makes me angry.



Comments are closed.

