h1

Dose of Reality #69

September 19, 2007

Blackhawks 4, Blue Jackets 3.

I enjoyed watching the future of the team last night. Watching Brassard, Brule, Voracek, Zherdev, Tollefsen, and of course Kris Russell, was a lot of fun, exciting, even comforting. Sure, the Blackhawks won the game and Jonathan Toews is going to be a fine NHL player, but the future looks good for Columbus. These kids are going to skate from start to finish, to compete, and they are going to find a way to win. It was almost worth the $80 that the team charged me for a pre-season contest.

But I especially loved watching Kris Russell play the game. His head was always up and he was always moving. In case you haven’t heard (sarcasm), Kris is only five foot whatever and he weighs less than an Ohio State safety! But you know, guys that size who have talent and brains and desire usually figure out a way to gain an edge and sonofagun, he uses his skating ability to always be in position so that he doesn’t have to play bang the body or catch up! He is going to be great and it was a pleasure to watch him play as if he has been at an NHL blueline all his life.

I wouldn’t want to be fighting Russell for a roster spot.

-Truth Serum

One comment

  1. Yeah, I was really impressed with Russell in Tuesday’s game as well. I said on my blog the other day I could watch Brassard handle the puck all day…I think I could watch Russell skate all day.

    I’m not sure I’d want to see him paired up with Duvie all the time, as he was for at least part of that game (although they were probably on the PP at that point…I lost track after awhile since they were almost never at even strength), since they’re both smallish.



Comments are closed.