h1

The long summer nap continues

July 27, 2007

I take a break from my summer hibernation, like somebody woke me up out of a deep sleep.  I’m pleased to see that the new GM still isn’t doing anything blatantly (or even remotely) dumb, there are no contract disputes, Kevin Lowe isn’t poaching in Columbus (not that I blame him), and I have taken six calls at work and home regarding season ticket sales.

All in all, a calm and safe summer so far.  Color this Blue Jackets fan cautiously optimistic.  What does that mean?  I’m not sure yet, but when I figure it out, I’ll expound on the theme.  As for now, it’s time to hit the snooze button, pull the covers back up to my chin, and enjoy some more slumber.

From hockey, that is.

I’ve reminded myself recently that this is not just a Blue Jackets blog, but was originally conceived as a general sports blog with a focus on hockey.  Since the NHL is out of season, bring on the rest of the sports!

Baseball

A couple of things I’d like to mention, here.

First, the Cincinnati Reds.  Wow, has this ever been a season to forget.  Starting pitching that is anecdotally (not necessarily statistically) average, big bat offense, and no bullpen equals many more losses than wins.  Since Jerry Narron was relieved of his managerial duties, at least things have looked competitive.  I still find myself tuning in many nights, hoping to see the Redlegs pull one out.  It’s always fun to watch your team win, even when they stink (right CBJ fans?!?).

Next, Barry Bonds and the impending changing of the guard at the top of the all-time home run list.  I’m just not sure I care about this anymore.  Ten years ago, it mattered to me as a baseball fan.  As I’ve grown up a bit since then and been slightly disillusioned by the steroids era as a whole, I’m not as interested in this particular record.  So… whatever.

The Summer of Scandal

Pacman Jones, Michael Vick, Tim Donaghy, Barry B*nds, the Tour de France, etc.

I know “the game” is never the same for anyone once they pass fifth or sixth grade, and start to realize that they’re watching big business on the field/ice/what-have-you.  And I also know that the growing domination of non-stop sports coverage from television, internet, print media, and blogs has changed the landscape of sports in the last ten to twenty years.  But why does it seem that Sportscenter is mostly about off the field action than actual sports?  (I know the answer, and so do you, but it doesn’t mean I have to like it)

(And before you point out that three of the above five examples I gave actually do relate to on the field action, I’m aware.  Please zoom out and see the big picture.)

I’m eager for September and October to be here so I can get lost in hockey, and college and pro football.

Now where is that snooze button again?

Thanks for stopping by the End of the Bench.  Come back soon.

One comment

  1. Thanks for your note about Aetna. That’s interesting information to have. Good luck with your running!



Comments are closed.

