h1

Video replay redux

February 16, 2007

I’m torn.  On the one hand, it pains me to see yet another questionable goal related event be pushed to the “war room” in Toronto during a Blue Jackets game.  On the other, I’m so tired of hearing people complaining about mystery goals.  It’s a battle cry for losing teams, teams (and fans) that are inches away from giving up. 

“If only we’d had those calls made correctly, things would be different.”  [quote fully fabricated from Drew’s imagination]

Bob Hunter writes a column today in the Dispatch on this topic, and I have to say I agree with him when he opines that goal decisions should rest with the on-ice (or at least in-arena) officials.  What exactly is the point of having a video goal judge in Nationwide if all questionable replays are reviewed in the hallowed halls of the Toronto league offices?  Why pay that person money to be there if they don’t do anything?

And how can we be sure that our faceless friends at mission control are looking at those videos free of bias? They are in Canada, where a lot of people cringe every time Lord Stanley’s Cup goes south of the border.

I don’t agree with what Hunter is insinuating here, but placing accountability in-house would at least erase the air of impropriety that some see clouding these decisions.  I think it’s somewhat true that a franchise like Toronto, Detroit, etc. would be more likely to be favored in a questionable situation than a club like Columbus, Florida, or Atlanta.  This is human nature and occurs in all sports (I would argue), but I don’t think that there are league officials sitting in Toronto board rooms dreaming up ways to screw with new teams.  As Doug MacLean (among others) has made painfully obvious, we don’t need any help screwing things up here in Columbus.

Long story made short:

Do I think the goal in question from Tuesday (read the Dispatch article if you don’t know what I’m talking about) should have been counted?  Absolutely.

Do I think the call was made correctly in the end?  Absolutely.

The refs screwed up in the Minnesota game earlier this year, but I’m not one to let my blood pressure get too worked up over missed goal calls.  After all, the three this year that come to mind might have netted the team a six point gain in the standings.  Which would put Columbus at 12th in the Conference, or 13 points out of the 8th playoff seed. 

In other words, almost in the playoffs.

Thanks for stopping by the End of the Bench.  Come back soon.

