h1

Dose of Reality #22

January 4, 2007

Dose of Reality

I didn’t stay up late to watch the Blue Jackets play the LA Kings on Wednesday night. I did set my TiVo for it, but after seeing the score when I logged in this morning, I haven’t bothered to watch it yet.

It’s not that I don’t like to watch them lose, it is due more to the fact that they are not very interesting to watch on television anymore. I attend almost all of the home games, so the games I watch on television are road games. The Jackets are a different team on the road, playing a different style of hockey than they do at home. They appear to be more timid and slower. To be honest, I often find them hard to watch when I see them live, (remember the first period of the recent Chicago game?) so unless there is something even more monotonous on the television, I will pass them up and watch them later at my convenience.

As I said, the Jackets are not very exciting to watch and having Jeff Rimer and Danny Gare broadcast the games makes them even duller. I agree with Drew about the over-use of the Ohio connection, the mistakes Jeff makes when he identifies the players incorrectly, the complaining they do about officiating, and the lack of insights that Danny brings to the game. All of this combined with the poor play of the team is a lethal combination for an organization that needs to create future hockey fans.

Making things even worse are all the Fox Sports commercials. I have never watched the “Best Damned” whatever that they promote over and over, but if I get tired of the skin shows on Cinemax, I might give them a watch. Those guys sure do look like they get a lot, if you know what I mean. But I guess not many companies want to advertise on Blue Jacket hockey games, so Fox has fill the time some way.

Like I said in a previous post, I watch a lot of games and don’t care too much for the Jacket broadcasting team. They could do a lot more, like pointing out when a Jacket player makes an error, know and present the rules better, and have Danny Gare explain the process that an NHL player goes through on the ice when making a play.

Hockey is a game of mistakes and when a team or player makes one, the better teams will capitalize. You don’t have to be a genius to figure out that the Jackets make a lot of mistakes and therefore give up more scoring opportunities. Jeff and Danny need to be honest with the viewers, because Columbus does not lose to an LA or St. Louis unless they make more errors. Look at last night: We had twice as many penalties, only seven shots in the first period, and lost a lot of faceoffs. These numbers can be even more telling against a Buffalo or Anaheim.

So my advice, Drew, is to relax, and not to think of winning and losing. I’m not counting on any of the Junior Jackets coming up in a few years and I am resigned to the fact that Doug MacLean is laughing all the way to the bank. But when the white trash like me quit going to the games, who is going to replace us? Not the people whose eyes glaze over when the Jackets are on TV.

– Truth Serum

