h1

Help a fellow blogger!

January 3, 2007

No, I don’t want any money.  (Though if you’re offering, I don’t suppose I’d turn it down.)

I have a few non-fiction pop music books I’m currently reading (the giant U2 bio and a Beatles bio), but I’m in need of a good book or two to occupy my lunch hour.  Since a few of the unnamed people in my office think it’s okay to take the sports page to the bathroom and then replace it in the lunch room, I usually bring my own reading material.  You know… for safety reasons.

I’ve found most of the people who make it here to the End of the Bench are fairly intelligent and articulate.  It’s my hope that each of you will take a minute out of your day, and leave the title and author of one of your favorite books in the comments to this post.  The books you suggest can be sports related, fiction or not, basically I’ll take all suggestions.

Thanks in advance for your help, and thanks for stopping by.  Come back soon.

9 comments

  1. Here are a few good reads that I have completed on the long flights between C-Bus and Seattle…

    Lullaby or Survivor – Chuck Pahlniuk
    Microserfs, Generation X, or Shampoo Planet – Douglas Coupland
    Stiff – Mary Roach
    Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs – Chuck Klosterman

    I have some other ones that are more serious, but these are pretty interesting/entertaining…


  2. “The World According to Garp” – John Irving

    Fun, intersting, vulgar, heroic, can’t put it down. I don’t know how into fiction you are but I love this book.

    ALSO

    “Breakfast of Champions” – Kurt Vonnegut

    If you haven’t read it then you most definately should and if you have then you should probably read it again. Excellent read and as Vonnegut writes, so we as American males live. So true it hurts.


  3. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
    Henderson the Rain King by Saul Bellow
    Lost in the Funhouse (short stories) by John Barth
    A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole


  4. the first three i thought of:

    little big man- thomas berger (best western novel ever)

    hard-boiled wonderland and the end of the world- haruki murakami (or pretty much anything by said author, though this is my favorite)

    american gods- neil gaiman (for those of us who love road trips and tourists traps, and would like to think that means something)


  5. I’ve often thought about his assists being so low, especially in that year he won the rocket trophy.

    It’s the reason I was so surprised that Mclean shelled out so much money for him. He hasnt’ proved himself to be a winner and willing to do the things needed to bring a championship to the team.

    He’s only shown he can score a few goals. If you make a list of guys in the league today that you think are capable of leading their teams to a cup, I guarantee you you won’t see this kind of history in their stats.


  6. To all who have replied thus far: thank you! I’ll take your list to the library and pick some out.

    Chiefcanuck: I think you meant to respond to the previous post, but I can’t figure out how to move it so I’ll respond here. I think you’re partly right. His assist totals have been appallingly low in the past compared to goals, but the gap is improving. And this past month in particular has shown anyone watching that Rick Nash can do more than score goals. He’s playing with outstanding effort on both offense and defense. He’s playing regular mintues on the PK (quite well, in my opinion), he’s checking hard, showing hustle, passing the puck better than ever before, and still scoring goals. Time will tell on whether this was a good move for the Jackets.


  7. A more comprehensive thanks to those on the literary recommendations.

    Herringbone – I actually haven’t heard of any of these, which is pretty exciting. Interesting/entertaining books are usually fun to get through.

    Littlest Brother – growing up in the same household as you, I can verify that these are stellar reads for me that will have to be reread.

    badgolfbob – I’ve only read A Confederacy of Dunces from your list, and that one has been staring at me from the bedroom bookshelf for about a year now. The others I will have to trust your judgement, which hasn’t steered me wrong in literary choices in the past.

    E – As with Herringbone’s suggestions, I’m not familiar with these either. But that just ensures that they’ll be on the list.

    Thanks to everyone who has responded. As a result of your efforts, I won’t have to touch the soiled newspapers for some time now.


  8. On a hockey related note, one of the more interesting reads is “From Behind the Red Line” by Todd Hartje.

    Interesting story of a North American’s perspective playing Hockey in Cold War Russia.


  9. Skraut-

    Thanks for stopping by, and for the suggestion. I’ll try to find that one. It does sound interesting. Unfortunately, hockey books are pretty hard to come by here in Columbus, even at most of the bookstores.



Comments are closed.

