h1

An ill advised foray into the world of hockey statistics

January 2, 2007

For the last month I’ve been promising a stats post.  I hate to disappoint my two faithful readers, but it’s not going to happen.

I’ve done some work in Excel extracting some data, and I’ve come to the conclusion that while the things I discovered (not much) may be interesting it’s just not in my nature to look at hockey this way.  I’d much rather use simple or complex statistics culled by others to make my points than wade knee-deep in data searching for who knows what.

My hat is off to those who do their own work in this regard.  I’ll continue to provide the commentary you’re used to here at End of the Bench, and steal numbers from somebody else when it helps my cause.

I hope you had a great New Year, and that you’re ready for a great 2007.  Thanks for stopping by, come back soon.

