h1

It’s so quiet…

December 29, 2006

With all the travel and family time linked to this time of year, it’s not surprising that I haven’t had a meaningful post about anything in I don’t know how long.  I have a lot of thoughts in my head that want to get out, just not enough time to get them down.  By the time I make a few minutes, the topics are old and stale (like my upcoming post about realignment).

Mrs. EOB and I watched most of the barn-burner against Boston on Tuesday night.  I tried to turn the TV off a few times, but she made me keep watching (what a woman!)  The last few minutes of regulation and the overtime literally had me on my feet. 

I never do that.

The win was exciting, if only for me to be able to say to the one Bruins fan I actually know, “How about that game last night?!?”

I didn’t get to see the game last night, but it sounds like that might be a good thing.  The final score of 7-4 is one thing, but from what I’ve read the problems are still the same.  Pavel Datsyuk is quoted as saying the following regarding his late-third period game-tying goal.

“Nobody held me up so I kept going to the net, and I shot it,” Datsyuk said of his ninth of the season.

Hasn’t there been much talk around the CBJ blogosphere lately regarding just this?  If we don’t check them, they will score.  Despite the “scoring troubles” the Wings have had compared to past seasons, they still have an unbelievable amount of skill up front and will make you pay.  And did the Jackets ever pay.

Up by one with ten to go.  Down by three at the buzzer (including one empty netter).  We were doing a gift exchange away from the TV, and every time I’d run in the other room to check the score, it kept going up for Detroit.  I wasn’t pleased, but I can’t say it surprised me.

The rivalry IwoCPO wants (not to mention every hockey fan in Columbus) may take a while to fully materialize.  At this point, it’s still the case of the little brother occassionally stealing a candy bar from his older brother while mostly getting his ass kicked.  And if the NHL’s realignment plan gets some legs, we may be done with the rivalry for quite a while.

There’s a game tonight at Minnesota.  I’ll probably watch.  Next week I’ll make a good effort to get things back to normal around here, with your regular diet of insanity.

Thanks for stopping by the End of the Bench.  Have a safe and fun New Year’s, and come back soon. 

