h1

Doug MacLean fired? I wish!

November 13, 2006

I took a glance at the NHL standings this morning, and I had to admit I was a bit shocked.  You mean the Blue Jackets actually have five wins?!?  I had to rack my brain to remember who they were.  Based on recent play, I’ve had a hard time remembering if we’ve actually scored a goal this year.

I didn’t put up my own post game thoughts after the Edmonton and Chicago games.  Honestly, I only saw one period of the Edmonton game (first), and less than a period of the Chicago game (also first).  I fallen into a bad habit when I watch games.  I’ll start watching, and if the other team scores first I’ll flip the channel.  I did happen to catch the Chicago goal last night, but before the buzzer had stopped I was already on a different channel.  It seems I can put up with the play of the team if they’re tied or winning, but I’m having a tough time sitting through losses.  It’s pathetic, I know.  But I can’t stand watching them not be able to gain the blueline if they’re not going to win.  I’ll check back every 20-30 minutes to see the score, but lately I haven’t seen anything that makes me stay on the game.

I’ve been daydreaming lately that Doug MacLean has been fired.  Gerard Gallant is also an unfortunate casualty in this dream.  My daydream hasn’t decided who will replace them.  Would it be Pat Quinn, Ken Hitchcock, or someone else?  I don’t know.  But the more I watch the team wade in the stagnant pool of mediocrity and learn from Truth Serum that things really are as bad as they seem, the more I’m convinced that hockey will not successful (either in marketing the game or success on the ice) in Columbus until CGMDM is gone.

Doug is doing what he can to kill my hockey team, and it’s destroying my will to cheer for the Blue Jackets.

Fortunately for me (and unfortunately for the Blue Jackets), the football Buckeyes are five days away from the most anticipated regular season game in my lifetime.

#1 OSU (11-0) against #2 Michigan (11-0). 

While I’ll be pulling for Ohio State, I find it difficult to say with any confidence that they will win the game.  This has little to do with Michigan’s outstanding defense.  It has everything to do with the fact that I never feel confident before The Game.  It wouldn’t matter if Michigan were (0-11) this year, I’d still be sweating bullets until the final gun sounded.  This year is no different.

So while the Jackets are killing my sports soul, the Buckeyes are playing the part of dutiful saviors.  Thanks for being there in the tough times, fellas.

No comments yet

  1. […] I mentioned yesterday morning that my mind wanderings had taken me to a world where both MacLean and Gerard Gallant were fired.  I’d like to apologize to ex-coach Gallant for not hitting the bullseye in my alternate universe, which has resulted in some collateral damage for Gerard who was fired last night. […]



Comments are closed.

