h1

Five weird things

August 4, 2006

So I got tagged by Christy at Behind the Jersey and Scott at CasonBlog to list five weird things about me. I don’t usually participate in stuff like this, but I’m getting a huge kick out of the fact that hockey bloggers everywhere are doing the same thing at the same time. Who wants to be the loner? I already sit at the End of the Bench, but I’ll play along.

1) I learned to play hockey at the age of 24, never having ice-skated before. The only bruises I ever got were on my shoulders from the straps on my hockey bag.

2) I work in the insurance industry, but I have a degree in Music Education. This is as unrelated as you can get.

3) I first got into hockey while playing NHL ’94 on the Sega Genesis (The Red Wings rule this game). Because you would choose lines by pressing ‘A’, ‘B’, or ‘C’ buttons, I thought that’s what the ‘A’ and ‘C’ on the jerseys stood for. I always wondered why I never saw anyone wearing the letter ‘B’. This might make me sound incredibly stupid, but none of my parents (all four of them) followed hockey at the time so I didn’t have anyone to ask. When Columbus was awarded an NHL franchise in 1997, I started to seriously follow hockey (yes, compared to most people in the community I’m very new to the game) and I learned the true meaning of the ‘C’ and ‘A’.

4) I love “running” things. I’ve been in charge of a softball team for years, a fantasy football league, a poker league, various game tournaments, and get-togethers of all kinds. I can organize all these things fairly easily, but I can’t find the electric bill in my office.

5) As a young sports fan, I followed the Buckeyes. In late elementary school through early high school, I cheered for the Wolverines. When it became apparent that I would be attending OSU, I cheered again for the Buckeyes.

There are tons more things that I think are weird about me, but I was only asked for five. I don’t think there’s anyone left on my blogroll that hasn’t done this (that would), so I’m letting the dog die.

Thanks for the Friday diversion. Have a great weekend, and I’ll see you soon at the End of the Bench.

6 comments

  1. I first got into hockey while playing NHL ’94 on the Sega Genesis

    This is, of course, blasphemy.

    Everyone knows that the best hockey fans get their start on the SNES, not the Genesis.

    I do like the ‘A’ and ‘C’ theory, though.


  2. I was going to tag you, but it looks like someone(s) beat me to it.


  3. Don’t listen to Earl. Everybody knows Sega was the shit back then. Although I would’ve preferred a NES instead of my shitty Master System, Genesis was the real deal.


  4. Don’t listen to Earl.

    That is generally sound advice, actually.


  5. You should have just stayed a Wolverine fan…tisk tisk. Go Blue! 😉


  6. Drew:

    I don’t ever remember being asked about the ‘A’ or ‘C’. Even though I wasn’t a Red Wings fan yet, I would have made something up.

    Keep up the good work…



Comments are closed.

